

UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

(Re-accredited by NAAC with 'A' Grade) Minutes of the Special meeting of the Senate held on Friday, the 16th November 2018

:

Time Place of Meeting 08.30 A.M.

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram.

Members Present :

- 1. Prof (Dr).V.P. Mahadevan Pillai Vice-Chancellor (in the Chair)
- 2. Dr. S. Nazeeb
- 3. Dr.P. Rajesh Kumar
- 4. Dr. K.B. Manoj
- 5. Dr.B. Unnikrishnan Nair
- 6. Sri. M. Sreekumar
- 7. Dr. K.R. Kavitha
- 8. Sri. M. Harikrishnan
- 9. Adv. K.H. Babujan
- 10. Dr. Shaji.K
- 11. Dr. R. Lathadevi
- 12. Sri. Shijukhan. J.S
- 13. Sri. M. Lenin Lal

The Senate was called to order at 08.30. A.M. by Prof (Dr). V.P. Mahadevan Pillai, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor.

The Vice Chancellor welcomed all the members.

Condolences and Felicitations

അനുശോചനം

പ്രമുഖ കവി എം.എൻ പാലൂർ (പാലൂർ മാധവൻ നമ്പൂതിരി), പ്രശസ്ത മലയാള ചലച്ചിത്ര സംവിധായകൻ പി.സൂകുമേനോൻ, ഹിന്ദുസ്ഥാനി സംഗീതജ്ഞയും പത്മഭൂഷൺ ജേതാവുമായ അന്നപൂർണ്ണദേവി, വിഖ്യാത മാധ്യമപ്രവർത്തകൻ ജമാൽ ഖഷോഗി, കേരള നിയമസഭാംഗം പി.ബി അബ്ദുൾ റസാഖ്, മലയാള ചലച്ചിത്ര നടിയും ആകാശവാണിയിലെ ആദ്യകാല വാർത്താ അവതാരികയുമായ ലക്ഷ്മി കൃഷ്ണമൂർത്തി, കേന്ദ്രമന്ത്രി എച്ച്എൻ അനന്തകുമാർ, കോഴിക്കോട് സർവകലാശാല മുൻ വൈസ് ചാൻസിലറും പ്രമുഖ ചരിത്രകാരനുമായ ഡോ.ടി.കെ രവീന്ദ്രൻ എന്നിവരുടെ നിര്യാണത്തിൽ ഈ യോഗം അനുശോചനം രേഖപ്പെടുത്തുന്നു.

A Minute's silence was observed as a mark of respect to the departed souls.

അനുമോദനം

2018 ലെ സമാധാന നൊബേൽ സമ്മാനം പങ്കിട്ട നാദിയാ മുറാദ്, ഡോ.ഡെന്നിസ് മുക്വെഗി, 2018 ലെ സാമ്പത്തിക ശാസ്ത്രത്തിനുളള നൊബേൽ സമ്മാനം പങ്കിട്ട പോൾ റോമർ, വില്യം നോഡ്ഹൗസ്, ആർച്ച് ബിഷപ്പ് ബെനഡിക്ട് മാർഗ്രീഗോറിയോസ് അവാർഡ് നേടിയ ഡോ.കെ.എം തിക്കുറിശ്ശി ഫൗണ്ടേഷൻ അവാർഡ് പങ്കിട്ട ചലച്ചിത്രതാരങ്ങളായ ശോഭന, എബ്രഹാം, അവാർഡ് ജേതാവ് മുൻ ചീഫ് സെക്രട്ടറി ചിത്തിര് തിരുനാൾ ദേശീയ കമലഹാസൻ, കെ.ജയകുമാർ, കേരള സർവകലാശാല ഇന്റർ കൊളീജിയറ്റ് അത്ലറ്റിക് ചാംപ്യൻഷിപ്പ് കിരീടം കരസ്ഥമാക്കിയ എസ്.എൻ കോളേജ് ചെമ്പഴന്തി, ബാംഗ്ലൂർ് ജയിൻ സർവകലാശാലയിൽ വച്ച് സർവകലാശാല വാട്ടർപോളോ മൽസരത്തിൽ നടന്ന തന്തർ ജേതാക്കളായ കേരള

സർവകലാശാല, എൻ.സി ശേഖർ അവാർഡ് നേടിയ മുൻ മുഖ്യമന്ത്രി ശ്രീ.വി.എസ് അച്യുതാനന്ദൻ, വി.ആർ കൃഷ്ണയ്യർ അവാർഡ് നേടിയ എടനീർ മഠാധിപതി ശ്രീ.കേശവാനന്ദ ഭാരതി, 2018 ലെ എഴുത്തച്ഛൻ പുരസ്കാരം നേടിയ ശ്രീ.എം മുകുന്ദൻ, കേരള സർവകലാശാലയുടെ പ്രഥമ ഒ.എൻ.വി സാഹിത്യ പുരസ്കാരം നേടിയ ശ്രീമതി സുഗതകുമാരി, രാജാറാം മോഹൻറോയ് അവാർഡ് ജേതാവായ ദി ഹിന്ദു ഗ്രൂപ്പ് ചെയർമാൻ ശ്രീ.എൻ റാം, ഇൻഫോസിസ് സയൻസ് ഫൗണ്ടേഷന്റെ അവാർഡ് നേടിയ പ്രൊഫസർ എസ്.കെ സതീഷ് എന്നിവരെ ഈ യോഗം അനുമോദിക്കുന്നു.

I. BUSINESS BROUGHT FORWARD BY THE VICE-CHANCELLOR AND THE SYNDICATE

01. Award of Degrees, Diplomas, Titles and Certificates - reg. (CE/DD) The following resolution moved by Dr.P. Rajesh Kumar, Member, Syndicate and seconded by Dr. S. Nazeeb, Member, Syndicate was unanimously adopted by the House.

"That, all candidates who have passed the various examinations under the different Faculties and also those who carried on research under the prescribed conditions and who have been adjudged worthy, to be awarded the Research Degrees under the various faculties and whom the Syndicate during the period from 3rd October, 2018 to 15th November, 2018 on the report of the examiners, has certified to be qualified to receive the respective Titles, Diplomas, Certificates and Degrees and those students of Autonomous Colleges who have successfully completed their course of study and are duly recommended by the Governing Council of the respective Autonomous Colleges during the aforesaid period for award of Degrees be admitted to those Titles, Diplomas, Certificates and Degrees"

02. Report on the Audit of Accounts of University of Kerala for the year 2016-17 – Consideration of- reg. (OAD III)

As per Section 50(4) of the Kerala University Act (Act 17 of 1974) and in pursuance of Section 13 of the Kerala Local Fund Audit Act, 1994 and Rule 18 of the Kerala Local Fund Audit Rules 1996, the Joint Director of Kerala State Audit Department, Kerala University Audit, Thiruvananthapuram, had submitted the Audit Report for the year 2016-17 of the University of Kerala.

As required vide Statute 10(4), Chapter VI of the Kerala University First Statutes 1977, the Audit Report 2016-17 was placed before the Syndicate held on 11.07.2018. The Syndicate vide item no. 02.04 resolved to approve the Audit Report for the year 2016-17.

As per Statute 93, Chapter V of the Kerala University First Statutes 1977, the Audit Report should also be laid in the Senate for consideration and approval. The Audit Report for the year 2016-17 is therefore submitted for consideration and approval of the Senate. When approved, the Audit Report of 2016-17 along with the Annual Accounts of 2016-17 shall be submitted to the Government.

Resolution of the Senate

The House considered and approved the Audit Report for the year 2016-17, as approved by the meeting of the Syndicate held on 11.07.2018 vide Item No.02.04 and as required under Statute 93 Chapter V of the Kerala University First Statutes 1977.

The House was adjourned sine die at 08.50 a.m.

Sd/-Registrar-in-Charge Sd/-Vice-Chancellor

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram. 16/11/2018