Ac.EIII

RULES FOR THE AWARD OF UNIVERSITY MERIT SCHOLARSHIPS FOR THE LL.B DEGREE COURSE (Revised as per the decision of the Meeting of the Syndicate held on 29/03/2012)

 There shall be Four (4) Merit Scholarships of the value of Rs.2,500/-(Rupees Two thousand and Five hundred only) each per annum. The distribution of the scholarship shall be as follows:

Science2Non-Science2

- 2. Candidates for the award of the scholarship should possess a First Class Bachelor's Degree obtained at the University Examination held immediately preceding the award of the scholarships. In the absence of eligible candidates from immediately preceding University Examination, candidate who had obtained a first class in the previous examination at the first appearance may also be considered.
- 3. These scholarships shall be awarded annually by the Syndicate on the basis of merit as judged by the aggregate percentage of the total marks secured in all the parts taken together at the BA/BSc/BCom Degree Examination.
- 4. Only those candidates who have qualified for the BA/BSc/BCom by passing all parts at the first appearance and immediately after the completion of the course in the minimum period prescribed without interruption are eligible for consideration for the award of the scholarships.
- **5.** The Scholarships are tenable for a period of three (3) years.
- **6.** If the scholarship awarded to a student falls vacant, the vacant scholarship shall be awarded to the candidate next in the rank in the subject concerned, as per rules. In the case of there being no candidate

eligible for the award for LL.B Course in an year, the award of such scholarships shall be decided by the Syndicate.

- 7. In deciding the award of the scholarships to students who obtain the same total marks, their performance in the immediately preceding qualifying Examination shall be taken into consideration.
- 8. The Principals of Colleges shall be drawing officers for disbursement of the above scholarships. The annual value of the scholarships shall be paid on a guarterly basis in advance to the Principals concerned. The Principals shall forward to this Office the payee's receipts for the first quarter along with the bills for the second quarter and so on. The bills for the four quarters shall be forwarded by the Principals and payments made to them by the University in the months of June, September, December and March every year. The Principals shall retain the amounts with them and make payments in arrears to the students at the close of each quarter. It shall be the responsibility of the Principals to see that the disbursement are made strictly in accordance with the rules. Any unspent balance left with the Principals at the end of each guarter shall be remitted to the Kerala University Fund and the details of remittance (viz. Draft/Chalan No., date and amount) reported to the University immediately thereafter.
- **9.** Students who belong to the Kerala State and are studying in any of the Law Colleges affiliated to the University of Kerala immediately after passing the qualifying examination conducted by the University of Kerala alone are eligible for the awards.
- 10. The scholarships shall not be held concurrently with any other scholarships except Welfare Scholarships offered by State/Central Government. The continuance of the scholarship for each year shall depend upon the satisfactory progress and conduct of the holders thereof.
- 11. The scholarships shall not be held for more than one year in the same class and shall be discontinued in the event of failure at a University Examination.

- 12. The scholarships may be held along with fee concessions, if any, enjoyed by the holders.
- **13.** Any change in these shall be made by the Syndicate.

Sd/-Assistant Registrar (Acad) For Registrar