

## UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

Election of fourteen (14) Members to the Syndicate by the Members of the Senate (under Section 21- Other Members – (a) & (b) of the Kerala University Act, 1974)

No. Election / Syndicate / 2014

## NOTIFICATION

It is hereby notified under Statutes 3 (5), 34 and 71 of the Kerala University (Conduct of elections to various Authorities or Bodies) First Statutes, 1974 that the following elections will be held without postal ballot according to the principle of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the Statutes to elect.

- (a) Thirteen (13) Members to the Syndicate by the Members of the Senate from among themselves (Under Section 21 Other Members (a) of the Kerala University Act, 1974) of whom
  - (i) Seven (7) shall be persons who are not teachers, of whom, one shall be a person belonging to a Scheduled Caste or a Schedule Tribe.
  - (ii) Two (2) shall be Principals of First Grade Colleges, of whom, one shall be the Principal of a Government College, and
  - (iii) Four (4) shall be teachers who are not Principals, of whom, one shall be a University teacher and one shall be a teacher of a Government College.
- (b) Election of one (1) member from among student members referred to in item (15) under the heading 'Ex-Officio members' (ii) in item (12) under the heading 'Elected members' and (iii) in item (3) under the heading 'Other members' in Section 17 of the Kerala University Act, 1974 by the members of the Senate (under Section 21- Other members (b) of the Kerala University Act, 1974).

Only persons whose names are on the electoral roll of members of the Senate published by the University on 07-11-2014 are eligible to take part in the election and to vote thereat subject to the provisions contained in the Kerala University Election Statutes. Copies of the Electoral roll are available for sale in the University Office on payment of Rs.30/- per copy.

Every elector is at liberty to nominate one duly qualified person to fill up each of the seat. Every such nomination shall be proposed by an elector and shall be seconded in writing by another elector. Every such nomination shall contain an affidavit and the consent of the nominee agreeing to serve the concerned body, if elected. Nominations shall be made in the prescribed form, copies of which can be had from the Election Section, University Office, free of cost, on request.

Nominations duly filled in, in all respects shall reach the **Registrar/Returning Officer** not later than **2.30 p.m. on 12-12-2014**. Nominations, if sent by post should be enclosed in an envelope superscribed "Nomination for election to the Syndicate".

The polling of votes for the above election will be held from 10.00 A.M. to 12.00 noon on 29-12-2014 at the meeting of the Senate specially convened for the purpose at the Senate Chamber, University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram.

## The programme for the conduct of the election is as follows:

1	Last date and hour for the receipt of nominations	:	12-12-2014 Friday	2.30 p.m.
2	Date and hour for scrutiny of nominations	:	<u>12-12-2014</u> Friday	2.45 p.m.
3	Date of Publication of the list of candidates validly nominated	: :	<u>12-12-2014</u> Friday	
4	Last date and hour for withdrawal of Candidature	:	20-12-2014 Saturday	11.30 a.m.
5	Date of publication of the final list of candidates	:	20-12-2014 Saturday	
6	Date and hour fixed for the poll, if any at the University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram	: :	29 -12-2014 Monday	10.00 a.m. to 12.00 noon
7	Date and hour for scrutiny and counting of votes, if any	: :	29 -12-2014 Monday	12.15 p.m. onwards

By Order of the Vice-Chancellor

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram, Date: 25.11.2014.

DR.K.MOHAMMED BASHEER

Registrar/ Returning Officer