

## UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

## No. Election/Syndicate/21(b)/2022

Bye-Election of one Student Member to the Syndicate by the Members of the Senate (Under Section 21-Other Members – (b) of the Kerala University Act, 1974)

## NOTIFICATION

It is hereby notified under Statutes 3 (5), 34 and 71 of the Kerala University (Conduct of elections to various Authorities or Bodies) First Statutes, 1974 that the following election will be held without postal ballot according to the principle of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the Statutes.

Election to the Syndicate for one (1) Member by the Members of the Senate as provided for in item (b) under the heading "Other Members of Section 21 of the Kerala University Act, 1974; from among the Student Members of the Senate (viz., members referred to under (i) in item 15 under the heading "Ex-Officio Members" (ii) in item (12) under the heading "Elected Members and (iii) in item (3) under the heading 'Other Members in section 17 of the Kerala University Act, 1974.

Only persons whose names are on the electoral roll of members of the Senate published by the University on **20.07.2022** are eligible to take part in the election and to vote thereat subject to the provisions contained in the Kerala University Election Statutes. Copies of the Electoral roll are available for sale in the University Office on payment of Rs.50/- per copy.

Nominations for the election shall be made in the prescribed forms, copies of which can be had from the Election Section, University Office, free of cost, on request. Every elector is at liberty to nominate one duly qualified person to fill up the vacancy. Every such nomination shall be proposed by an elector and shall be seconded in writing by another elector. Every such nomination shall contain an affidavit and the consent of the nominee agreeing to serve the corresponding body, if elected.

Nominations duly filled in, in all respects shall reach the **Registrar/Returning**Officer not later than 2.00 p.m. on 11.08.2022. Nominations, if sent by post should be enclosed in an envelope superscribed "Nomination for bye-election to the Syndicate".

The polling of votes for the above elections will be held from 8.30 a.m. to 10.00 a.m on **20.08.2022** at the special meeting of the Senate at the Senate Chamber, University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram.

## The programme for the conduct of the election is as follows:

Last date and hour for the receipt of Nominations	11.08.2022 Thursday 02.00 p.m.
Date and hour for the scrutiny of Nomination	11.08.2022 Thursday
	2.05 p.m.
Date of Publication of the list of	11.08.2022
candidates validly nominated	Thursday
Date and hour fixed for withdrawal of	17.08.2022
candidature	Wednesday
	11.00 a.m.
Date of publication of the final list of	<u>17.08.2022</u>
candidates	Wednesday
Date and hour fixed for the Poll if any,	20.08.2022
at the meeting of the Senate	Saturday
	8.30 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.
Date and hour for scrutiny and	
counting of votes, at the University	20.08.2022
Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram	Saturday
	10.30 a.m
	onwards

By Order of the Vice-Chancellor

Sd/-

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram, Date: 27.07.2022.

thapuram, Prof.(Dr.) K.S Anil Kumar Registrar/ Returning Officer