

UNIVERSITY OF KERALA

Election to the Senate and to the Students' Council by the Members of the General Council of the Kerala University Union, 2016-2017

NOTIFICATION

No. Election/1/S/SC/2016-2017

It is hereby notified that the following elections will be held according to the principle of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the Statutes and in accordance with the guidelines framed in the report of the Lyngdoh Committee on elections in Colleges/Universities as approved by the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India.

- 1. Election of ten (10) members to the **Senate** by the members of the General Council of the Kerala University Union from among full-time students of whom one shall be a post-graduate student, one shall be a research scholar, one shall be a student of a professional college and one shall be a lady student (Under Section 17 Elected Members (12) of the Kerala University Act, 1974).
- 2. Election of ten (10) members to the **Students' Council**, not being members of the Senate or the Academic Council by the members of the General Council of the Kerala University Union from among themselves, of whom two shall be women (Under Section 29 (2) Elected Members (a) of the Kerala University Act, 1974).

The electoral roll of the members of the General Council of the Kerala University Union for the above elections has been published by the University on **17-05-2017**. Only persons whose names are on the Electoral Roll are eligible to take part in the elections and to vote thereat subject to the provisions contained in the Kerala University Act, 1974 and the Statues framed thereunder.

Every elector is at liberty to nominate one duly qualified person to fill up each seat. Every such nomination shall contain the consent of the nominee in writing agreeing to serve the concerned body, if elected.

The polling of votes for the above elections will be held from **10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m. on 09-06-2017** at the University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram. Each voter (University Union Councillor) has to produce the identity card issued to him/her by the University. Those who fail to produce the identity cards will not be issued the ballot paper for the Poll.

The following is the programme for the conduct of the elections:

1	Last date and hour fixed for receipt of nominations	::	30-05-2017 Tuesday	2.00 p.m.
2	Date and hour fixed for scrutiny of nominations	::	30-05-2017 Tuesday	3.00 p.m.
3	Date of publication of the provisional list of valid nominations	::	30-05-2017 Tuesday	
4	Last date and hour fixed for withdrawal of candidature	::	02-06-2017 Friday	11.00 a.m.
5	Date of publication of the final list of valid nominations	::	02-06-2017 Friday	
6	Date and hour fixed for the poll in the University Office, Thiruvananthapuram	::	09-06-2017 Friday	10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m.
7	Date and time fixed for scrutiny and counting of votes in the University Office, Thiruvananthapuram.	::	09-06-2017 Friday	3.00.p.m. onwards

By Order of the Vice-Chancellor,

Sd/-

Registrar (i/c)/Returning Officer

University Buildings, Thiruvananthapuram, Date: 23-05-2017